TJ International Partners up with the Republic of Consciousness Prize

TJ International Partners up with the Republic of Consciousness Prize
07th Dec 2017

TJ International has become the commercial partner of The Republic of Consciousness Prize for Small Presses. The prize, supported by the Times Literary Supplement (official media partner), has been awarded Grant for the Arts funding from The Arts Council.

The Republic of Consciousness Prize for Small Presses was founded last year by author Neil Griffiths to reward small presses supporting “hard-core literary fiction and gorgeous prose”. Last year’s inaugural winner was Fitzcarraldo Editions for Counternarratives by John Keene.

The 2018 award will see all shortlisted presses receive £1,000 while the winner will win a minimum of £5,000.

Griffiths said: “We were really keen to have TJ International as one of our major partners. They printed many of the books submitted to the prize in its first year and the high quality of the product was noticeable. It’s part of small presses selling point – beautiful books. And TJ deliver.”

Andy Vosper, TJ International’s Deputy CEO, said: “We are delighted to be associated with the Literary Prize for Small Presses. Great literature continues to be sought after and passionately cherished, beautiful books make a difference.”

The submissions for the prize closed on 31st October 2017. Novels, translated fiction, short stories were all eligible – the only requirement for submission was that the press is from the UK or ROI, and has no more than five full time members of staff.

This year’s judges are Gayle Lazda of the LRB Bookshop; Sally Shakti-Willow, from The Contemporary Small Press, University of Westminster; Matthew Leigh of the Lighthouse Bookshop; Claire Salisbury from the Fiction department of Waterstones Deansgate; and Jay Moran of Foyles, Birmingham.

Thirteen titles have been longlisted (listed in alphabetical order, by publisher):

Playing Possum by Kevin Davey (Aaaargh! Press)
Sorry to Disrupt the Peace by Patty Yumi Cottrell (And Other Stories)
The Gallows Pole by Ben Myers (Bluemoose Books)
An Overcoat by Jack Robinson (CB Editions)
Die, My Love by Ariana Harwicz, tr. Sarah Moses and Carolina Orloff (Charco Press)
Gaudy Bauble by Isabel Waidner (Dostoevsky Wannabe)
Compass by Mathias Enard, tr. Charlotte Mandell (Fitzcarraldo Editions)
Blue Self-Portrait by Noémi Lefevbre, tr. Sophie Lewis (Les Fugitives)
We that are Young by Preti Taneja (Galley Beggar Press)
Attrib. and other stories by Eley Williams (Influx Press)
Darker with the Lights on by David Hayden (Little Island Press)
In the Absence of Absalon by Simon Okotie (Salt Publishing)
The Iron Age by Arja Kajermo (Tramp Press)

The Republic of Consciousness shortlist will be announced at The Centre for New Writing in Manchester on 19th February 2018.

The 2018 winner will be announced at a ceremony in central London in the spring.