The 2018 Shortlist for the Republic of Consciousness Prize is Here!

The 2018 Shortlist for the Republic of Consciousness Prize is Here!
20th Feb 2018

The Republic of Consciousness 2018 shortlist was announced last night at Centre for New Writing at University of Manchester. The event celebrated the thriving small press scene with publishers and writers from several of the listed presses. One of the aims of the prize is to further connect small presses and it was great to have so many talented people in one room.

This year’s shortlist is bold and surprising, almost flamboyant. Two of the presses are less than two years old, and without design it has novels, translated fiction and short stories represented. Every shortlisted work has flown over an impossibly high bar of ‘hardcore literary fiction and gorgeous prose’ with its own unique style.

The Republic Of Consciousness 2018 Shortlist:

Die, My Love by Ariana Harwicz, tr. Sarah Moses & Carolina Orloff (Charco Press)
Gaudy Bauble by Isabel Waidner (Dostoevsky Wannabe)
Blue Self-Portrait by Noémi Lefevbre, tr. Sophie Lewis (Les Fugitives)
We that are Young by Preti Taneja (Galley Beggar Press)
Attrib. and other stories by Eley Williams (Influx Press)
Darker with the Lights on by David Hayden (Little Island Press)

The winner of Republic of Consciousness 2018 Prize will be announced at the University of Westminster on the March 20, 2018.

Republic of Consciousness 2018