Influx Press wins Republic of Consciousness Prize for Small Presses 2018

Influx Press wins Republic of Consciousness Prize for Small Presses 2018
21st Mar 2018

Hackney-based independent publisher Influx Press has won the 2018 Republic of Consciousness Prize for Small Presses for its title Attrib. and Other Stories by Eley Williams.

Neil Griffiths, the founder of the prize, said Influx’s achievement was “exactly what the Republic of Consciousness Prize was set up to reward”.

“A small press that is so focussed on what it wants to publish it can see unusually brilliant writing more clearly – especially when it comes to short stories”, he said. “Eley Williams is that rare thing, a deeply serious writer working on a playful level. In the middle of her story ‘Smote’, I was floored. I realised I was reading a prose poet of a very high calibre indeed, and I said to myself: this book will win. The judges agreed.”

TJ International, the commercial partner of the RofC, were delighted to be associated with the Literary Prize for Small Presses. Andy Vosper, TJ Sales Director said “Congratulations to Influx of course but also to all who submitted entries and to the Republic of Consciousness for a great celebratory evening. Fantastic to be part of such vibrant community.”

Kit Caless, publisher at Influx, praised the collaborative nature of independent publishing while accepting the award.

He said: “We are delighted to win the RofC Prize. This is changing the landscape of literary prizes, for the very reason that the press and the author are awarded. We are really proud of Eley Williams and her book. We wouldn’t have been in this position without her, and she wouldn’t be in this position without us. And that kind of relationship is really important for small publishers. It’s much more of a collaborative effort. When you work with an author on our level, really hands on, really close – for the two parties to be awarded is an exceptional thing for literary prizes. But mainly congratulations to everyone else.”

Influx Press will receive £5,000, with £3,000 going to the publisher and £2,000 to the author. The press triumphed over the shortlisted publishers Les Fugitives, Little Island Press, Charco Press, Dostoevsky Wannabe, and Galley Beggar Press, all of which will receive £1,500 each.

Returning for the second year in 2018, the Republic of Consciousness Prize rewards independent publishers from the UK and Ireland that take the risk to publish brave and bold literary fiction. It is open to presses that have no more than five full-time employees. Last year’s prize was won by Fitzcaralldo Editions.